Saturday, October 22, 2016

Call for Submissions: The 2016 DNA-OUT OF PRINT Short Fiction Special:


We are excited to announce 2016 OUT OF PRINT short fiction special feature in DNA.

The theme this year is DISSENT.
Out of Print invites works that are nuanced, complex and imaginative in their interpretation of the theme ‘Dissent’ that may be read to mean a political, personal, communal, or societal form of subversion or protest.

The stories will be judged by the Out of Print editorial team, Indira Chandrasekhar, Leela Levitt and Ram Sadasiv.

Three stories will be chosen for publication in the DNA print spread ‘Just Before Monday’.
The winning story will receive a prize of Rs 18000. The remaining two finalists will receive an award of Rs 6000 each.

The prizewinners and 10 shortlisted works will be published online in DNA’s e-paper and on the Out of Print blog.

Submission Guidelines:
Submitted works must be original, in English, previously unpublished, and close to 2000 words in length.

Only one submission per writer will be read. Work by writers who have been finalists in two consecutive DNA-OUT OF PRINT short story competitions will not be considered.

Submissions should be cut and pasted into the body of an email and sent to Please note, no attachments will be opened.

Subject line should read DNA-Out of Print 2016.

A short biographical note of 150-200 words should be cut and paste below the story.

The last date for submissions is Sunday, 6 November at midnight IST.

The longlist will be announced on Sunday, 20 November.

The shortlist that includes the 3 winners and the 10 works that will be published on the Out of Print blog and in the DNA e-paper will be announced on Sunday 27 November.

If you have not heard from us by Sunday 27 November, it means, unfortunately, that your piece has not been chosen.

We look forward to receiving your submissions.

The winning stories and the shortlisted works of 2015 themed around ‘Erosion’ may be read at

The winning stories of 2014 themed around ‘Choice’ may be read at The remaining ten shortlisted works from 2014 may be found at